Something that has helped me greatly

Home Page Forums Misophonia Forum Something that has helped me greatly

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Melvin

Greetings all

I’m a fuel dispatcher, I work in an call center space that us like a gigantic living room, it’s a nice looking space but I don’t have a choice but to sit close to my teammates who I love personally dearly but they drive me crazy. They eat loudly or sniffle all the time including my boss. To an extent they cant help it but to another they really need to try to blow there noe but dont seem to notice how consistent it is. Nevertheless I’ve been working here for over three years now and been able to use headphones and just dealing with it not to let it get to me but what’s some schedules changes and new hired that happened affecting teammates I work with more often, the changes in the weather outside and the temperature in the building and everything getting crazy and our industry at this time of year causing a incredible amount of stress eating by everyone and a culture of eating at oned desk more times than not the sounds that bother me became unbearable. Even though I had my headphones I have to take them out to answer the phone and focus on what is being told to me and occasionally I need to have them out to hear my teammates tell me thanks combined with I work 12-hour work days it’s not healthy for me to have my headphones in as much as it increases to. Combined with work stress but even without I was ready to quit. The thing is I love my job so I thought of what can I do 10 prove the situation without quitting. One of the things to help which I must give credit to my girlfriend for mentioning was to Simply tell my boss and see if there was changes he can make I knew there were very little that’s the schedule for my area is not flexible and there’s not openings in other areas. He to my surprise really understood and respected what I said. He didnt know how much I was suffering in silence and