Sharing story of misophonia

Home Page Forums Misophonia Forum Sharing story of misophonia

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Annie

Hi everyone,

I have misophonia, but only began opening up to my friends about five years ago. I spent much of my teens not knowing there was a diagnosis for what ailed me and once I knew, it took me several years to be open about it. It’s quite a vulnerable thing. I’m getting better at it.

Now, I’m hoping to merge my career with something that is personal to me. I’m a documentary photographer, and I want to share stories of people who have misophonia. If you live in the NYC area and are open to sharing your experience (video or photo), I would be honored to provide the platform. The more people know, the better, right?

Leave a comment if you’re interested!

#7491 Reply
      MJ

Hi Annie. Just yesterday, I found out about misophonia, and I’ve been obsessed reading about it. In the process of digesting the facts in relation to my life history with this, I am very interested in helping to bring light on these issues. While I would really like to contribute, I’m also surprised to notice that being public about this would take plenty of courage. Since I am sitting here immersed in the subject, I don’t want to bail on my interest in helping. Consider me “almost” in. Feel free to be in touch if you like.

#7508 Reply
        Annie

Hey MJ, thanks for responding! It has to be really interesting to have just found a name for what you’ve been experiencing. I remember that feeling! Regarding the piece, I can definitely shoot it in a way that obscures your identity. There are many creative ways to do that. Let me know if you’re still interested. Shoot me an email at Annie.grossinger@gmail.com

Thanks!
          Annie

#8479 Reply
          Orion