Psychology Study on Misophonia – Request for Volunteers

Home Page Forums Misophonia Forum Psychology Study on Misophonia – Request for Volunteers

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Alex

Hi all,

Firstly, my post has been pre-approved by admin. (thank you to them).

I am a mature student (female, late 40s) in my final year of studying for a Masters in Psychology at Birkbeck, University of London. Due to my own personal experience of living with it, I am writing my final year dissertation on misophonia – a topic close to all of our hearts (and ears).

I am looking for four to five willing individuals, to tell me their story – their personal experiences of living with misophonia and the impact of it. This would involve talking with me, face-to-face, for around two hours – to share your story with me. Information from these discussions will then be written up into a dissertation.
      To take part, you must be:

1. Female
      2. Aged 30 – 55
      3. Have moderate or severe misophonia (self-declared)
      4. Not currently, nor have been in the previous 18 months, undergoing therapy or treatment for mental health issues or misophonia
      5. A native English speaker
      6. Able to get to Bedford/surrounding area (ideally) or London zones 1-2.

Once you have confirmed you would like to take part, I will suggest we Skype or meet (your choice) for a chat. You can (e)meet me, learn more about the project and ask as many questions as you like. I will also show you past students’ work – so that you know the kind of information that will be written up.

You are then free to let me know either that you would like to continue to have the longer conversation the same day, or meet another time to have it or that you no longer wish to take part. All meetings will take place in a public space or at the University – either way, it’ll be a place that you agree to.

Good to know: