A theory about my misophonia

Home Page Forums Misophonia Forum A theory about my misophonia

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Curtis

I’ve suffered since I was 15 or so, and I’m 28 now. I’ve conducted literally thousands of hours of research about the disorder, trying to figure out how I can make it stop.

My case is kind of crummy because although I work in construction (noisy environment, so good there), my primary trigger is the sight of anyone chewing gum. If I see it, I feel like crap for the next 5 minutes. If someone pops it, I feel like crap for the next half hour. If I’m forced to work with someone who’s chewing, I want to murder them, get sweaty and shaky, and can’t think about anything else.

My theory is this: my triggers are gum chewing (with the mouth open of course), noisy eating, loud noises from upstairs neighbours, and pen clicking in a classroom. It seems to me that most triggers seem similar in that they have something to do with another person being RUDE, disrespectful, or otherwise ignorant, not caring about those around them.

Most of us were raised to think that chewing with your mouth open is rude, and that you should be aware that other people live near you and you should try not to be a nuisance.